Royal Bank of Scotland plc (United Kingdom)

£800 million (over 1 billion U.S. dollars) settlement in 2016

DRRT代表全球300多家机构投资者,与苏格兰皇家银行(Royal Bank of Scotland plc)就2008年4月配售新股引起的案件达成8亿英镑的和解。该案从2017年3月开始为期6个月的审理。在伦敦专业诉讼律所Stewarts Law的当地律师的协作下,最终与苏格兰皇家银行达成和解,这是自与日本奥林巴斯(Olympus)达成110亿日元和解之后,DRRT为客户代理的又一宗成功案例。苏格兰皇家银行和解案对投资者在欧洲追偿损失而言具有重大意义。这不仅是2016年3月富通(Fortis/Ageas)和解案之后,欧洲此类案件追偿历史上的第二大和解案,同时也是全球股东诉讼历史上排名前15位的和解案。该案的解决方案提供了令人瞩目的按照每股股份赔偿的方式(这在此种类型及规模的团体或集体诉讼和解案中非常罕见),并以双方满意的方式终结了费用高昂的复杂诉讼。关于2008年配股中购买的每股股份,DRRT及Stewarts Law代理的投资者将收到每股41便士的赔偿。

Ageas NV/SA fka Fortis (Netherlands)

€1.2 billion (1.27 billion U.S. dollars) settlement in 2016

Stichting Investor Claims Against Fortis (“SICAF“) has reached an agreement with Ageas NV/SA (“Ageas“) pursuant to which Ageas will pay an amount of €1.2 billion to eligible shareholders covered by the settlement. This is the largest settlement of investor claims in Europe so far. SICAF represents over 150 institutional investors from various parts of the world (U.S., Canada, U.K., Continental Europe, Asia) on whose behalf two separate court actions were filed against Ageas and other defendants in Utrecht between 2011 and 2012 seeking damages on their investments in Fortis shares in the period from May 2007 to October 2008. The active involvement of the litigating institutions in the Dutch court and the involvement of our Foundation in a leading role in the Dutch litigation since 2011 contributed significantly to this historic settlement. SICAF is proud to have played a prominent role in the negotiations and mediation process and appreciates the support from its board of directors as well as local counsel in this matter. The settlement is subject to the approval of a court in the Netherlands in accordance with the Dutch Act on Collective Settlements (Wet Collectieve Afwikkeling van Massaschades).

Olympus (Japan)

¥11 billion (92 million U.S. dollars) settlement in 2015

2013年,DRRT代表其投资者客户组成的团体,与日本奥林巴斯(Olympus)达成110亿日元的和解,和解方案经2015年3月27日奥林巴斯签署后发生效力,从而终结了2012年针对该公司多年前因会计欺诈而提起的诉讼。达成和解后,2013年10月的判决前初期调解及初步和解之后漫长的和解协议草拟程序也告终结。在日本当地律师合作下,DRRT一直主导该独特的日本团体诉讼案,并开创了日本证券诉讼的新领域,由此达成日本历史上最大金额的此类和解案。虽然我们的团体和解详情需要保密,但我们相信我们取得的成果要明显优于任何其他和解方案。而且,与其他和解方案相比,在我们达成的和解中,我们的客户获得较快兑现并且保持匿名,而其他团体的投资者信息已经被公开。DRRT成功克服了“新型”股东诉讼领域内的挑战,我们对此引以为荣。

Gildan Activewear Inc. (Canada)

22.5 million U.S. dollars class action settlement in 2010

由于吉尔丹公司(Gildan Activewear Inc.)发布了关于2008财年误导性的盈利预期,以及关于多米尼加共和国工厂与洪都拉斯工厂生产规模相当的误导性陈述,且未能及时披露影响其多米尼加共和国纺织制造工厂的不利事件,公司股价因此大幅上涨。吉尔丹公司的股价就此攀升至每股46美元以上。但吉尔丹公司2008年4月29日发布公告,调低其2008财年的盈利预期之后,公司股价随即下跌30%。DRRT与加拿大首席律师成功代理一家主要的德国投资公司,作为本案首席原告(该案也曾在美国起诉,但已撤案)。该案提供了在类似股东诉讼情形中最适当的求偿方案。

Sky Deutschland AG (fka Premiere) (Germany)

我们代表多家国际机构投资者团体(包括大型美国投资者)在该案中索赔2.425亿欧元,并于2010年10月获得赔偿。投资者提出索赔,指控该公司在2005至2008年间付费电视订购用户数量的核算方式和报告违反了证券法。DRRT为诉讼提供资金支持,并与德国当地的专业律所合作,在2010年达成诉前庭外和解。招股书责任索赔的追偿度高达50%。

Royal Dutch Shell plc (Netherlands)

2007年4月荷兰案达成3.81亿美元的和解,以及美国证监会1.2亿美元和解金的80%(同样适用于非美国投资者)。2007年4月11日,荷兰皇家壳牌有限公司(Royal Dutch Shell plc)签署一份和解协议,就公司各类虚假陈述(主要涉及1999年至2003年间公司经证实的石油储备)造成的投资亏损,向非美国投资者提供赔偿。和解协议提供3.526亿美元的赔偿金,另外提供2840万美元的款项,用于调整非美国和解协议下的赔偿,以便与美国和解案中的赔付金保持一致。壳牌公司进一步同意从2008年4月1日起支付利息。2009年5月29日,荷兰上诉法院宣布和解方案对全体成员以及被代表的投资者具有约束力,赔付金于2011年年中支付。在协商该荷兰基金会的和解中,DRRT代表整个非美国集团发挥重要作用,并且,当非美国投资者由于缺乏管辖权而面临退出美国集体诉讼之时,DRRT已代理超过25%的全体基金会参与者。这是当时新的WCAM规定(有关团体索赔的集体和解法令)下,欧洲证券诉讼中第一宗集体诉讼和解案。

Royal Bank of Scotland plc (United Kingdom)

£800 million (over 1 billion U.S. dollars) settlement in 2016

DRRT reached a £800 million settlement with Royal Bank of Scotland plc (“RBS“) in the case arising from the April 2008 rights issue on behalf of over 300 institutional investors from all over the world. A six-month trial was due to start in March 2017. Working with local solicitors from the London boutique litigation firm Stewarts Law, the settlement with RBS marks another successful case resolution for DRRT clients. It adds to the settlement with Olympus for ¥11 billion in Japan. The RBS settlement represents a significant step for investor loss recovery efforts in Europe. Not only is it the second largest settlement of its kind in European history, following the March 2016 Fortis/Ageas settlement, it also ranks among the top 15 settlements in the history of global shareholder litigation. This resolution provides a remarkable recovery per share, rarely seen in group or class action settlements of its kind and size, and a mutually desirable end to expensive and complex litigation. Investors represented by DRRT and Stewarts Law will receive 41p for every share purchased in the 2008 Rights Offering.

Ageas NV/SA fka Fortis (Netherlands)

€1.2 billion (1.27 billion U.S. dollars) settlement in 2016

Stichting Investor Claims Against Fortis (“SICAF“) has reached an agreement with Ageas NV/SA (“Ageas“) pursuant to which Ageas will pay an amount of €1.2 billion to eligible shareholders covered by the settlement. This is the largest settlement of investor claims in Europe so far. SICAF represents over 150 institutional investors from various parts of the world (U.S., Canada, U.K., Continental Europe, Asia) on whose behalf two separate court actions were filed against Ageas and other defendants in Utrecht between 2011 and 2012 seeking damages on their investments in Fortis shares in the period from May 2007 to October 2008. The active involvement of the litigating institutions in the Dutch court and the involvement of our Foundation in a leading role in the Dutch litigation since 2011 contributed significantly to this historic settlement. SICAF is proud to have played a prominent role in the negotiations and mediation process and appreciates the support from its board of directors as well as local counsel in this matter. The settlement is subject to the approval of a court in the Netherlands in accordance with the Dutch Act on Collective Settlements (Wet Collectieve Afwikkeling van Massaschades).

Olympus (Japan)

¥11 billion (92 million U.S. dollars) settlement in 2015

In 2013, DRRT reached a JPY 11 billion settlement for the benefit of its group of investor clients, which was not official until signed by Olympus on March 27, 2015, putting an end to litigation commenced in 2012 over the consequences of the accounting fraud committed by the company in the years before. This settlement ended a long settlement agreement drafting process following the early, pre-judgment mediation and preliminary settlement in October 2013. DRRT, in cooperation with its Japanese local counsel, has spearheaded this unique Japanese group litigation and broken new ground in Japanese securities litigation which resulted in the biggest settlement of its kind in Japanese history. While the details of our group’s settlement remain confidential, we are confident that our own outcome is significantly superior to any other settlement. Moreover, our settlement has resulted in an earlier payment to our clients compared to other settlements and our clients have remained anonymous, while investors of other groups have been made public. DRRT is proud to have successfully overcome the challenges involved in a “new“ shareholder litigation jurisdiction.

Gildan Activewear Inc. (Canada)

22.5 million U.S. dollars class action settlement in 2010

Gildan Activewear Inc. (“Gildan“) materially increased its stock price due to issuance of misleading earnings guidance for the fiscal year 2008, misleading statements that its Dominican Republic manufacturing facility was operating at a comparable scale of production to its more mature Honduras manufacturing facility, and the failure to make timely disclosure of alleged adverse events affecting the productivity of its Dominican Republic textile manufacturing facility. Based on this, Gildan’s shares rose to over USD $46 per share. Following Gildan’s announcement on April 29, 2008 reducing its fiscal 2008 earnings guidance, Gildan’s stock price fell 30%. DRRT together with the Canadian lead counsel successfully represented a major German investment company as lead plaintiff in this case, which had also been filed in the United States but was dismissed there. This case represents a successful selection of the most appropriate forum for litigating shareholder claims under this circumstance.

Sky Deutschland AG (fka Premiere) (Germany)

This case seeking €242.5 million was resolved in October 2010 for a group of international institutional investors, including major U.S. investors. Investors made claims for compensation alleging violation of securities laws relating to the proper accounting and reporting of subscription numbers of pay-TV cable subscribers between 2005‐2008. DRRT funded the litigation and cooperated with a local German specialty law firm in this matter, reaching a pre-litigation out‐of‐court settlement in 2010. The recovery for prospectus liability claims was almost 50%.

Royal Dutch Shell plc (Netherlands)

$381 million Dutch settlement in April 2007 plus 80% out of the $120 million SEC settlement in the United States (also for non-U.S. investors) On April 11, 2007, Royal Dutch Shell plc signed a settlement agreement to compensate non-U.S. investors for the damages caused by various false statements of the company, relating primarily to its proved oil reserves from 1999 to 2003. The settlement agreement provides relief in the amount of $352.6 million, and an additional sum of $28.4 million was available to align the relief under the non-U.S. settlement agreement with the funds under the U.S. settlement. Royal Dutch Shell furthermore agreed to pay interest as per April 1, 2008. On May 29, 2009, the Dutch Court of Appeals declared the settlement binding on all members and represented investors and a payout of the funds took place mid-2011. DRRT was instrumental in negotiating this Dutch foundation settlement for the entire non-U.S. class and brought in over 25% of all participants in the foundation at a time when the non-U.S. investors were facing dismissal from the U.S. class action for lack of jurisdiction. The result was the first “class-action-type“ settlement in securities litigation matters in Europe under the then fairly new WCAM statute.